Crisis Committee: Cabinet of President Donald J. Trump

The President’s Cabinet has a history of being POTUS’ right hand, though they don’t always turn out that way. Sometimes presidents turn away from their cabinets towards their own confidants, like what created the infamous Kitchen Cabinet under President Andrew Jackson. With President Donald Trump’s initial selections, it seemed he moved his own Kitchen Cabinet to the White House with him. It is the role of the Cabinet to advise the President on all the different facets of the country he runs, but will these functionaries be in office long enough to fulfill their job?

Topic 1: Immigration and Refugees


The topic of immigration is one which the President was very vocal about during his campaign. From promises to make the immigration process harder on the legal side to the promise of a border wall to be paid by the Mexican government to the withdrawal of DACA privileges to Dreamers, this topic is at the front of the President’s agenda. Though illegal immigration seems to have declined in the past two years, the cabinet must discuss ways to diminish the rates for good. Many of the legislations proposed thus far have not been passed, and the attempted travel ban was also unsuccessful. The cabinet should engage in discussion to create new measures to push forward this legislation with the current shift in the House of Representatives.

Topic 2: East Asian Relations


It is no secret the relationships of the USA and East Asia have been strained over the last few years. Though Japan and South Korea have always seemed to be steady allies, the relationships with China and North Korea have been a rollercoaster as of late. However, with the recent peace agreements between North and South Korea and the explosive exchanges between POTUS and Mr. Kim Jong Un, the Cabinet must reassess these alliances. A consensus must be made about the future of US relations with East Asia.



Vice President, Mike Pence

Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo

Secretary of Treasury, Steven Mnuchin

Secretary of Defense,  Patrick M. Shanahan

Attorney General, Matthew Whitaker

Secretary of the Interior, David Bernhardt

Secretary of Agriculture, Sonny Perdue

Secretary of Commerce, Wilbur Ross

Secretary of Labor, Alex Acosta

Secretary of Health and Human Services, Alex Azar

Secretary of Housing and Human Development, Ben Carson

Secretary of Transportation, Elaine Chao

Secretary of Energy, Rick Perry

Secretary of Education, Betsy DeVos

Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Robert Wilkie

Secretary of Homeland Security, Kirstjen Nielsen

Cabinet-Level Officials

Chief of Staff, Mick Mulvaney

US Trade Representative, Robert Lighthizer

Director of National Intelligence, Dan Coats

Ambassador to the UN, Jonathan Cohen

Director of the Office Management and Budget, Mick Mulvaney

Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, Gina Haspel

Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency, Andrew R Wheeler

Administrator of the Small Business Association, Linda MacMahon